Sad Puppies 3: The Saddening — the Slate

The official Sad Puppies 3 recommended Hugo Slate: Remember: only YOU can combat puppy-related sadness!


Best Novel

“The Dark Between the Stars” – Kevin J. Anderson – TOR

“Trial by Fire” – Charles E. Gannon – BAEN

“Skin Game” – Jim Butcher – ROC

“Monster Hunter Nemesis” – Larry Correia – BAEN

“Lines of Departure” – Marko Kloos – 47 North (Amazon)

Best Novella

“Flow” – Arlan Andrews Sr. – Analog magazine November 2014

“One Bright Star to Guide Them” – John C. Wright – Castalia House

“The Jenregar and the Light” – Dave Creek – Analog magazine October 2014

“Big Boys Don’t Cry” – Tom Kratman – Castalia House

Best Novelette

“The Journeyman: In the Stone House” – Michael F. Flynn – Analog magazine June 2014

“The Triple Sun: A Golden Age Tale” – Rajnar Vajra – Analog magazine July/Aug 2014

“Championship B’tok” – Edward M. Lerner – Analog magazine Sept 2014

“Ashes to Ashes, Dust to Dust, Earth to Alluvium” – Gray Rinehart – Orson Scott Card’s InterGalactic Medicine Show

Best Short Story

“Goodnight Stars” – Annie Bellet – The Apocalypse Triptych

“Tuesdays With Molakesh the Destroyer” – Megan Grey – Fireside Fiction

“Totaled” – Kary English – Galaxy’s Edge magazine

“On A Spiritual Plain” – Lou Antonelli – Sci Phi Journal #2

Best Related Work

“Letters from Gardner” – Lou Antonelli – Merry Blacksmith Press

“Transhuman and Subhuman: Essays on Science Fiction and Awful Truth” – John C. Wright – Castalia House


“Wisdom From My Internet” – Michael Z. Williamson

“Why Science is Never Settled” – Tedd Roberts – BAEN

Best Graphic Story

“Reduce Reuse Reanimate (Zombie Nation book #2) – Carter Reid – (independent)

Best Dramatic Presentation (Long Form)

“The Lego Movie” – Phil Lord, Christopher Miller

“Guardians of the Galaxy” – James Gunn

“Interstellar” – Christopher Nolan

“The Maze Runner” – Wes Ball

Best Dramatic Presentation (Short Form)

Grimm – ” Once We Were Gods” – NBC

Marvel’s Agent’s of Shield – ABC

Warehouse 13 – SyFY

A Game of Thrones – “The Mountain and the Viper” – HBO

Best Editor (Long Form)

Toni Weisskopf – BAEN

Jim Minz – BAEN

Anne Sowards – ACE/ROC

Sheila Gilbert – DAW

Best Editor (Short Form)

Mike Resnick – Galaxy’s Edge magazine

Edmund R. Schubert – Orson Scott Card’s InterGalactic Medicine Show

Jennifer Brozek (Shattered Shields)

Bryan Thomas Schmidt (Shattered Shields)

Best Professional Artist

Carter Reid

Jon Eno

Alan Pollack

Nick Greenwood

Best Semiprozine

Sci Phi Journal – Jason Rennie

Orson Scott Card’s InterGalactic Medicine Show – Edmund Schubert

Abyss & Apex

Andromeda Spaceways In-Flight Magazine

Best Fanzine

Tangent SF On-line – Dave Truesdale

SF Signal – Jon DeNardo

Elitist Book Reviews – Steve Diamond

The Revenge of Hump Day – Tim Bolgeo

Best Fancast

“The Sci Phi Show” – Jason Rennie

Dungeon Crawlers Radio

Adventures in SF Publishing

Best Fan Writer

Matthew David Surridge (Black Gate)

Jeffro Johnson

Amanda Green

Cedar Sanderson

Dave Freer

The John W. Campbell Award

Jason Cordova

Kary English

Eric S. Raymond

Amy Turner Hughes